Eat! Lansing

July 11, 2008

Amici’s New York Deli

Filed under: American, Lansing — Jack Lumanog @ 7:40 am

Amici’s New York Deli
521 N Clippert St Lansing, MI 48912
(517) 332-1000
Monday-Saturday, 10 am-8 pm; Sunday 11 am-6 pm

I was born and raised in Hoboken, New Jersey and spent an awful lot of time in New York.  I like to think that I know a fair amount about “New York deli food”.  So, I was really excited about trying Amici’s New York Deli.  That is, until I had their hot corned beef sandwich.

The corned beef was very thin, dry and bland.  And, there was a lot of it on the sandwich.  I’m told that the pastrami is the main event and to give it another shot.  I wasn’t impressed with my first visit there.  The restaurant is trying to clearly go for that NY deli vibe.  The prices were certainly in line with New York (nearly $10 for my sandwich and fountain drink) and they offer Dr. Brown’s sodas and salt and vinegar chips. 

The ambiance is pretty nice with free wi-fi and a flat screen TV on one side of the restaurant and a bustling lunch crowd the day I was there.  Though I wasn’t feeling the NY deli vibe the first time, I’m still willing to give the pastrami a shot the next time I’m there.

Blog at WordPress.com.

