Eat! Lansing

March 15, 2011

Hershey’s Steak and Seafood

Filed under: American, East Lansing — Jack Lumanog @ 9:44 am

Hershey’s Steak and Seafood
2682 East Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823
517-337-7324
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Closed on most Sundays

I’ve been to Hershey’s a few times for lunch and dinner and on my most recent visit last weekend, I realized I never sat down to write out a review for this place!  I would call this a good restaurant – not great – but good.

The service has been excellent each time I’ve visited Hershey’s.  The food is where it has been off the charts great or mediocre.  I don’t know of any other restaurants in Greater Lansing that has escargots on the menu besides The English Inn. It’s served with two garlic breadsticks with six escargots in an order.  A great way to start the meal.  My entree also came with a choice of soup, a trip to the salad bar or the Caesar Salad.  I went with the Caesar because I got a choice to add anchovies and bacon – I said yes to both and it was just awesome.  In fact, I may go back just for the old school Caesar!

For entrees, my wife and I decided to split what we ordered.  We ordered the Top Sirloin Broil (good) and the Chicken Wellington (not so great).  The steak was cooked a little more than the medium that we ordered but it was tasty.  The Chicken Wellington sounded great on the menu but it came to our table a little on the pink side – never a good idea for chicken.  Our delightful waitress cheerfully made it right by getting our entree re-fired and she threw in a free dessert to make up for the kitchen’s error.

The wine list isn’t huge but the prices are reasonable.  The decor and the menu reminds me of a country club.  Both have worked for years so why mess with a good thing?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

